Department of Commerce Legislative Session Information

The Department of Commerce partners with communities, businesses, and organizations across the state to strengthen Montana’s economy. The Department supports the development of affordable and vibrant communities, promotes Montana’s spectacular unspoiled nature and charming towns, and supports the innovative and sustainable industries which strengthen Montana’s economy.

The Montana Department of Commerce administers a diverse set of programs that together help Montana build and grow sustainable communities where people want to live, work and play.

The Department is composed of four major operational divisions, and four administratively attached entities:

Major Operational Divisions

Office of Tourism and Business Development Division

The Montana Office of Tourism and Business Development markets Montana’s spectacular unspoiled nature, vibrant and charming small towns, breathtaking experiences, relaxing hospitality, and competitive business climate to promote the state as a place to visit and do business. Its goal is to sustain and enhance the quality of life for all Montanans and their communities by strengthening the economy through job creation and business development. In conjunction with other divisions of the Montana Department of Commerce and partners around the state, MOTBD’s programs aim to support businesses through technical assistance, research, and access to grants and loans while inspiring visitation to maximize the economic impact of tourism, encourage private sector investment and ensure that Montana is a great place to live, work and play today and for future generations.

Montana Office of Tourism and Business Development programs include:

  • Budget & Operations Bureau
  • Marketing Bureau
  • Industry Services and Outreach Bureau
  • Business Assistance Bureau
  • Research & Information Services Bureau

Community Development Division

The Community Development Division helps Montana communities offer safe, efficient, and quality public facilities, including streets, water and sewer services, and schools; affordable and attractive housing and neighborhoods; excellent health care facilities and social services; a vibrant economy; and job opportunities.

The Community Development Division has financial and technical assistance for planning, financing, and constructing public facilities and school facilities; providing decent and affordable housing for low and moderate income families and renewing and improving neighborhoods; community land use planning assistance; and dealing with community impacts from coal or hard rock mining and related development.

Community Development Division programs and boards include:

  • Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG)
  • Community Technical Assistance Program (CTAP)
  • Montana Main Street Program
  • Montana Historic Preservation Grant Program (MHPG)
  • Montana Coal Endowment Program (TSEP)
  • Coal Board
  • Hard Rock Mining Impact Board

Housing Division

The Housing Division, known as Montana Housing, strengthens our vibrant communities by supporting access to safe, affordable and sustainable homes for Montanans whose housing needs are not met by the market. Montana Housing works with community partners across the state to create a variety of housing opportunities for Montana families and offers financial and technical resources to facilitate development of affordable homes. Montana Housing also supports educational opportunities for first-time homebuyers, offers qualified Montanans down payment assistance and access to an affordable 30-year fixed rate mortgage when they are ready to purchase a home, and provides rental assistance to those who need it.

Montana Housing is composed of two units: the Montana Board of Housing and the Housing Assistance Bureau. The Montana Board of Housing provides policy direction for the eight programs under its purview. The Board is self-supporting, does not receive appropriations from the state's general fund and is administratively attached to the Montana Department of Commerce.

The Housing Assistance Bureau is Montana’s statewide Public Housing Authority (PHA) and administers several federally funded rental assistance programs in partnership with eleven field agency partners.

Montana Housing includes:

Board of Housing

  • Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (LIHTC)
  • Multifamily Coal Trust Homes Program
  • HOME Investment Partnership Program (HOME)
  • Housing Trust Fund (HTF)
  • Housing Montana Fund
  • Homeownership Loan Programs
  • Montana Veterans’ Home Loan Program
  • Mortgage Credit Certificate Program (MCC)
  • Reverse Annuity Mortgage Program (RAM)
  • Local Mortgage Loan Servicing

Housing Assistance Bureau

  • Project-Based Section 8 (PBS8)
    • Section 811 Project Rental Assistance Program (PRA)
  • Housing Choice Voucher Program (HCV)
    • U.S. Department Housing and Urban Development Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing (HUD-VASH)
    • Mainstream Voucher Program
  • Moderate Rehabilitation (Mod Rehab)

Director’s Office

The Director's Office provides overall leadership, communication, and management support to the Montana Department of Commerce Divisions, Bureaus, Programs and administratively attached Boards. The Office provides executive, administrative, legal, and policy direction.

The Director’s Office includes:

  • Offices of Accounting and Budget; Legal Affairs, Human Resources, Information Technology, and Communications
  • Montana Council on Developmental Disabilities

Entities Administratively Attached to the Department of Commerce:


2021-2023 Budget Presentations