Skip Navigation Links Home » Agency Description

Department Description

The Department of Commerce strives to enhance the economic prosperity for all Montanans. The Department works with our customers (economic and community development organizations, businesses, communities, governmental entities, elected officials, and the public) to diversify and expand the state’s economic base through business creation, expansion, and retention and improvement of our infrastructure, housing and facilities.

The Department is composed of nine major divisions as follows:

Business Resources Division

Community Development Division

  • Grants Bureau
  • Planning Bureau

Director's Office

  • Offices of Accounting and Budget; Legal Affairs, Human Resources, Information Technology, and Public Information
  • Montana Council on Developmental Disabilities

Housing Division

  • Board of Housing
  • Housing Assistance Bureau

Montana Board of Investments

Montana Facility Finance Authority

Montana Heritage Commission

Montana Promotion Division

The Department is mandated in 2-15-18, MCA